Arne Nordheim: Tenebrae (Score)

Bog | Cello, Orkester

Kunstner: Arne Nordheim
Format: Nodehæfter | Partitur
Tenebrae (1982), a single-movement cello concerto, commissioned and premiered by Rostropovich who praised the composer for his fine understanding and command of the rich timbre of the instrument. It is a convincing and almost nightmarish work containing music which leaves a tremendous impact on the listener. Not least in the central section where ghastly and terrifying apparitions are invoked out of the darkness. The final poetical section of the work is directly inspired by the description of the closing movement of Leverkühn’s Cantata in Thomas Mann’s Doktor Faustus.
ISBN: 9788759861981
Sideantal: 48
Sprog: Engelsk
Katalognummer: WH29746


      This is a well-printed (no illegible facsimile) score of amazing value!! It is a masterpiece by Norway's most talented living composer. The cellist Rostropovich was very impressed by this 25 minute concerto and by Nordheim's feeling for the instrument, which is better than some cellists'!!. Since this score is relatively inexpensive, I would seriously recommend to cellist everywhere to add this to their repertoire. Nordheim is not only a genius musician but a polymath with a real feeling for man's predicament in this universe. His works are therefore emotional without being cheaply so.
      Mark Glover - (LONDON)

      Kigget på for nylig

      Arne Nordheim: Tenebrae (Score)
      Cello, Orkester
      kr. 219,00