Hallgrimsson: Herma, Concerto For Cello & String Orchestra (Score)

Bog | Cello, Strygeorkester

Forlag: Chester Music
Format: Nodehæfter | Partitur
This concerto is one continuous movement that is clearly divided into 3 main sections. The first movement is moderately fast and rhapsodic in charachter followed by a second section with an accompanied cadenza in the middle, the final movement is a fast-paced, energetic crescendo that leads to the climax of the work at the end.

The solo part is a long and endlessly varied narrative that embraces the whole technical vocabulary of the cello available to both composer and soloist, with the harmonic aura being established by the orchestra from the beginning. The orchestra provides a platform of chords based on major and minor thirds which are the building blocks for the entire concerto both for soloist and orchestra.

The harmonic scenery created by the orchestra is very much at the service of the soloist, always seeking to support and highlight the poetic and dramatic content of the solo part as well as providing a transparent and clear harmonic framework. The accompaniment for the piece is dense, at times polyphonic and sometimes multi-layered but only towards the very end is the orchestra allowed to dominate, in the final climax of the work. Commissioned by William Conway. First performed with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in 1995.

ISBN: 9790201640976
Sideantal: 80
Sprog: Engelsk
Katalognummer: CT56059

      Kigget på for nylig