Elgar: Litany For SATB Chorus With Organ Or Piano Accompaniment

Bog | Klaver solo, SATB, Orgelledsagelse

Forlag: Novello
Kunstner: Edward Elgar
Format: Nodehæfter | Studie

Litany is the first chorus from Edward Elgar’s ‘The Dream of Gerontius’, scored for SATB Voices and Organ or Piano accompaniment in this Novello edition.

The Dream of Gerontius, Op. 38, is a work for Voices and orchestra in two parts composed by Edward Elgar in 1900, to text from the poem by John Henry Newman. It relates the journey of a pious man's soul from his deathbed to his judgment before God and settling into Purgatory. Litany is sung by the chorus (‘Assistants’) after Gerontius’ deathbed prayer. Elgar disapproved of the use of the term "oratorio" for the work, though his wishes are not always followed. The piece is widely regarded as Elgar's finest choral work, and some consider it his masterpiece.

Sir Edward Elgar was an English composer, many of whose works have entered the British and international classical concert repertoire. Among his best-known compositions are orchestral works including the Enigma Variations, the Pomp and Circumstance Marches, concertos for Violin and Cello, and two symphonies. He was appointed Master of the King's Musick in 1924.

Udgivet på: 16 maj 2001
Sideantal: 4
Katalognummer: NOV340790

      Kigget på for nylig

      Elgar: Litany For SATB Chorus With Organ Or Piano Accompaniment
      Klaver solo, SATB, Orgelledsagelse
      kr. 24,30