Philip Glass: Satyagraha Act 3 - Conclusion (Organ)

Bog | Orgel

Komponist: Philip Glass
Format: Nodehæfter | Studie
The second in Glass' trilogy about men who changed the world, Satyagraha's sub-text is politics. The opera is semi-narrative in form and deals with Mahatma Gandhi's early years in South Africa and his development of non-violent protest into a political tool. (Satyagraha is a Sanskrit word meaning 'truth force'). Each act is dominated by a single historic figure (non-singing role) overlooking the action from above: the Indian poet Rabindranath Tagore in Act 1, the Russian author Leo Tolstoy in Act 2, the American civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr., in Act 3.

The music from the conclusion of Act 3 has been beautifully arranged and adapted for Organ solo by Michael Riseman and Donald Joyce.
Skill Level: Medium Explain this
Sideantal: 12
Længde: 10
Sprog: Engelsk
Katalognummer: DU10040

      Philip Glass: Satyagraha Act 3 - Conclusion (Organ) anmeldelser indsamlet af reevooReevoo

      Kvalitet af indhold
      Værdi for pengene
      Samlet bedømmelse
      Vurdering 9.0 ud af 10 baseret på 3 anmeldelser
      9 ud af 10


      Penrith GB
      Ingen kommentarer
      Some of the page turn overs are awkward and could have been more thoughtfully arranged.
      Bekræftet køb: 08 marts 2018
      Udgivet den: 24 marts 2018

      Thank you for your review, I am sorry you are unsatisfied with this product, I will of course pass this information on to our product team, if you wish to return this to us for a full refund within 30 days let us know by replying to this message or simply emailing [email protected] and we can arrange return details for you. Please quote order no 6256420 on any emails etc. Kind Regards,

      8 ud af 10


      Portsmouth GB Professional church organist
      It's a good arrangement. Straightforward to play.
      The type face is not always clear. I know page turns are a difficult issue in type setting but some of these are very unhelpful with the positioning of repeats.
      Bekræftet køb: 25 marts 2014
      Udgivet den: 30 juni 2014


      This is the best Philip Glass piece for organ. Michael Reisman has done a fantastic job arranging this piece from the final act of Philip Glass' opera "Satyagraha" which explored the life of Ghandi. It is a highly reflective and allows for pleanty of stop changes at the players discretion. A must for all those organists willing to explore a more diverse repetoire.
      Anonym - ()

      Kigget på for nylig