Jan de Haan: Metamorphosis (Score/Parts)

Bog | Brass Band

Forlag: Hal Leonard
Komponist: Jan De Haan
Format: Nodehæfter | Partitur og stemmer

The opening of this three-movement work features an initial appearance of the thematic material that returns in various guises later on in the work. The leitmotiv centres on a minor second.

A range of thematic variations is heard in the lively and energetic Metamorphosis One. This movement is interrupted by an atmospheric meno mosso, containing melodic passages that return to the opening theme. Metamorhosis Two is characterised by various changes in tempo and musical character. Seven different soloists transform the thematic material – each in their own way. This eventually culminates in a passionate tutti passage.

The source of inspiration for Metamorphosis Three is the so-called BACH-motif, a musical autograph consisting of the notes B flat, A, C and B. This distinctive motif arises from the leitmotiv (here a descending minor second), which continues to evolve through various transpositions and transformations. For the composer, this spectacular last movement is an homage to one of the greatest and most influential composers in the history of music: Johann Sebastian Bach.

ISBN: 9790035229118
Skill Level: Øvet Explain this
Udgivet på: 22 juli 2015
Katalognummer: DHP1145577030

      Kigget på for nylig