George Frideric Handel: Four Coronation Anthems

Bog | SATB, Orkester

Format: Nodehæfter | Partitur

These four splendid anthems were composed for the coronation of George II in October 1727 and have since retained a position at the heart of the English choral tradition. The popular anthem Zadok the Priest has been performed at all subsequent coronations, and Handel's other contributions to the royal occasion - Let thy hand be strengthenedThe King shall rejoice, and My heart is inditing - have the same majestic grandeur, with affecting contrasts between different sections of the sacred texts. The editor, Clifford Bartlett, has corrected various inconsistencies in Handel's score, and complete details of sources and editorial method, additional performance notes, and a critical commentary are included.

ISBN: 9780193352599
Udgivet på: 08 marts 1990
Sideantal: 160
Sprog: Engelsk
Katalognummer: 9780193352599

      Kigget på for nylig