Matthew Martin: Stabat Mater

Bog | SATB

Forlag: Faber Music
Komponist: Matthew Martin
Format: Nodehæfter | Sangalbum

This powerful work takes a well-known hymn tune from the Mainz Gesangbuch of 1661 (Stabat Mater) as its musical starting point, interweaving it through different textures and variations alongside the plainsong solemn tone Salve Regina. The work, which was written specially for The Sixteen, is through-composed but divided into three sections: Silence, Love; Grief, Patience; Passion, Destiny. Each section is made up of two verses of the Latin text and one new verse in English – a commentary and emotional response to the chosen Latin verses. The movements may be performed separately or together, allowing great flexibility in function within both Catholic and Anglican liturgies.

ISBN: 9780571571512
Udgivet på: 25 januar 2018
Katalognummer: 0571571514

      Kigget på for nylig