Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata For Piano In E Flat Op.81a 'Les Adieux'

Bog | Klaver solo

Forlag: Bärenreiter
Format: Nodehæfter | Studie

Composed in 1809–10, Beethoven’s Sonata Op.81a expresses his very personal feelings. He titled its three movements “Das Lebe wohl” (The Farewell), “Die Abwesenheit” (The Absence) and “Das Wiedersehn” (The Return) in reference to the hasty departure of his good friend and patron Archduke Rudolph of Austria who fled Vienna with the imperial family on 4 May 1809 to escape Napoleon’s approaching troops.

Beethoven referred to Op.81a as a “characteristic sonata”, not in the sense that it had an underlying programme, but because it lent musical expression to his feelings. He reacted angrily when his publisher printed French translations of its title and movement headings. This however did not prevent Op.81a from becoming widely known by its French name “Les Adieux”.

- Introduction by Misha Donat

- Notes on performance practice by Jonathan Del Mar and Misha Donat

- Scholarly-critical Urtext edition at the cutting edge of scholarship

- Elegant engraving and optimal page turns

- Informative Introduction (Eng/Ger)

- Includes a Critical Commentary (Eng)

ISBN: 9790006561810
Skill Level: Medium-øvet Explain this
Udgivet på: 04 oktober 2017
Sideantal: 43
Katalognummer: BA11808