Jesper Madsen: Prætorius-Variationer (Organ)

Bog | Orgel

Komponist: Jesper Madsen
Format: Nodehæfter | Studie

The Prætorius-variationer, dedicated to the organist Helge Gramstrup, was composed by the Danish organist and composer, Jesper Madsen (1957-1999). The work, subtitled ‘Variations on a Motet by Michael Prætorius, Højlovet være Kongen skøn, 1609’, is his largest for Organ. The theme is presented in Prætorius’ own arrangement. Variation 1 has a rhapsodic, improvisatory feel; Variation 2, that of a fast movement from a Bach Trio Sonata. Variation 3 is a slow siciliano, and Variation 4’s wispy scherzando complements the meditative Variation 5. Variation 6, marked Finale, starts majestically but soon evolves into a French-style toccata with the melody on the pedal reeds. The work culminates in a triumphant arrangement of the original theme.

A review in the July/August issue of Choir and Organ magazine calls this work "very approachable" and a "very useful recital piece, although it's trickier than it looks."

ISBN: 9788774842491
Skill Level: Medium-øvet Explain this
Udgivet på: 12 februar 2015
Sideantal: 40
Sprog: Dansk
Katalognummer: MKC026

      Kigget på for nylig