Bo Holten: Livlægens Besøg (Score)

Bog | Opera

Komponist: Bo Holten
Format: Nodehæfter | Partitur

Livlægens Besøg (The Visit of the Royal Physician) - an Opera in 2 Acts by Bo Holten (2007-08).

Libretto: Per Olov Enquist
Dramaturg: Eva Sommestad Holten

Vocal score available: WH30885


Johann Friedrich Struensee: Bass Baritone
King Christian VII: Tenor
Queen Caroline Mathilde: Mezzo Soprano
Ove Høegh-Guldberg: Bass
Queen Dowager Juliane Marie: Soprano
Count Shack Carl Rantzau: Bass
King Frederik V: Tenor
Enevoldt Brandt: Tenor
Bootee-Cathrine: Soprano


The Opera is based on the Swedish writer P. O. Enquist's bestselling historical novel, The Visit of the Royal Physician. In 1765 the young German doctor Johann Friedrich Struensee arrives at the Danish Court in Copenhagen as newly appointed Royal Physician for the mentally unstable King Christian the VII. Close to the power and the young Queen Caroline Mathilde, Struensee dreams of making a better world for everyone. As time goes by he usurps still more power and tries to reform Denmark according to the ideas of the Enlightenment. Struensee engages in a fatal romantic relation to Caroline Mathilde and his bold grasp of power ends bloody.

ISBN: 9788759818350
Udgivet på: 01 januar 2008
Sideantal: 441
Længde: 145
Sprog: Dansk
Katalognummer: WH30984

      Kigget på for nylig